Our History

Our History, Our Legacy

January 23, 1963

Organization of Jurisdiction

January 23, 1963-1981

Appointment of Bishop Chester H. Nelson – Jurisdictional Prelate (26 Years)

July 20, 2007

Bishop Nathaniel H. Henderson resigned from office after 26 years of active service and leading over 100 churches from North Texas – Tyler, Kilgore, Henderson, Mt. Enterprise, Nacogdoches, Lufkin, Livingston, Cleveland and all points in between. South Texas – Bay City, Brazoria Sweeney and all points in between. East Texas – Beaumont, Port Arthur, Baytown and all points in between and Houston, Texas where the majority of the churches are located.

September 17, 2007

Election held by the Presiding Bishop of The Church of God in Christ, The Honorable Bishop Charles E. Blake, Sr. The election was held in Houston, Texas amongst the Pastors in the diocese. Bishop Prince E.W. Bryant, Sr. was elected and elevated to the Office of Jurisdictional Prelate.

November 12, 2007

Bishop Prince E.W. Bryant Sr. was consecrated as the only domestic Bishop amongst others at the 100th Centennial Year Celebration of The Church of God in Christ, Inc. in Memphis, Tennessee.

January 7, 2008

Bishop Bryant’s Inaugural Banquet was held at The Westin Galleria – 5060 Alabama, Houston, Texas.

Scroll to Top